Nepal Ambulance Service receives ‘British Medical Journal Awards South Asia 2018’ – South Asia Time

Nepal Ambulance Service receives ‘British Medical Journal Awards South Asia 2018’

 December 11, 2018  

National Ambulance Service of Nepal  has been awarded with the ‘British Medical Journal Awards South Asia 2018’ in the category of ‘Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Team of the Year’. The award was announced at the fifth edition of the BMJ Awards amidst a function organised in Chennai on December 1.

More than 1,500 nominations from across  South Asia in categories were nominated in BMJ South Asia award for this year. The nominees weer in  Excellence in Medical Education,  Healthcare Innovation, and Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Team  of the Year etc.

Nepal Ambulance Service is a non-profit initiative dedicated to the establishment of an emergency medical response system in Kathmandu and Lalitpur. Anyone can avail ambulance service by dialing emergency toll free number 102.

The emergency number is directed to the NAS dispatch centre where an agent screens the call for response details and dispatches the closest available ambulance. NAS is providing international standard health service with the help of emergency medical technicians in each ambulance.

Following are the winners of the prestigious 5th BMJ South Asia Awards 2018.

Category Winner Institution
Infectious Disease Initiative of the Year Dr. Avi Kumar Bansal National JALMA Institute for Leprosy and Other Mycobacterial Diseases Agra
Mental Health Team of the Year Dr. Hiranya Wijesundra District General Hospital – Ampara Sri Lanka
Research Paper of the Year Dr. Omesh Kumar Bharti State Institute of Health & Family Welfare,
Govt of Himachal Pradesh
Post Graduate Thesis of the Year Dr. Zainab Hasan Dow University of Health Sciences, Karachi Pakistan
Quality Improvement & Patient Safety
team of the year
Dr. Kulesh Bahadur Thapa Nepal Ambulance Service, Kathmandu
Surgical team of the year Dr. Bawantha Gamage Department of Surgery, Faculty of Medical Sciences, University of Sri Jayawardenapura Sri Lanka
Non- Communicable Disease Initiative
of the Year
Dr. Kanij Sultana Population Council Dhaka
Excellence in Medical Education Dr. Kyaw Myo University of Medicine, Mandalay
Healthcare Innovation of the Year Dr. Vimarsh Raina Chimera Translational Research Fraternity
New Delhi
Maternal & Child Health Team of the Year Dr. Aparna Hegde ARMMAN Mumbai

Winners were presented with a trophy and a certificate in the presence of India’s most senior healthcare professionals, industry executives, government officials, academicians, and researchers.